Latest news...

On Monday 30th November, St Andrew’s Day, we hosted three entertaining virtual events. Our aim for the day was to give everyone in the Fettes community the opportunity to join us for at least one of these events, so they were programmed to span different time zones across the globe  We were thrilled therefore to be joined by Fettes folk from all over the world, with subsequent positive emails of support arriving from Johannesburg, Hong Kong, London and California - to name but a few. The day began with our History Highlights at 8am UK time / 5pm Tokyo / 7pm Sydney, insightfully delivered by members of the History Department.  This was followed at noon UK time / 2pm Johannesburg / 8pm Hong Kong by the Head, Helen Harrison, on the topic of Fettes Today.  The day closed with Into the Archives, expertly delivered by College Archivist, Craig Marshall, who shared a range of artefacts and associated stories, leaving us all wanting more…

We are delighted that these virtual events were able to bring the Fettes community together at this time. We recorded the Into the Archives session, if you would like to watch it, it is now available to view here.

Some of the feedback recieved from the day includes: 

I have just listened to/watched the Archivist’s programme and found it interesting, although of course my appetite has been encouraged and I now want to see more about the Old Days at Fettes!!

Just to congratulate you and all concerned with the History Highlights.   It was brilliantly researched and delivered;  a thoroughly interesting, worthwhile and enjoyable  40 minutes.

Thank you so much for hosting the 3 St Andrew’s Day webinars- most interesting and informative.

Thank you so much for your riveting and informative presentation tonight. So much history - and it is good to know that it is in the best hands possible. Very interesting about the digitalization - at least it won't get lost.